Grown-Up Summers

I know. I haven’t posted much lately. I apologize to anyone who looks forward to reading these things. (I’m lookin at you, Aunt Lou.)

But I promise there’s good reason for it. Here it is.

Remember when we were kids and we had time to rejuvenate after a long school year? It was called “summer vacation.” And it came with that same over-excited feeling every year.

But now, it seems like summer just comes and goes, doesn’t it? And a lot of us see most of it through office windows.

StuGoldenbergStudio
[morning at Stuart Goldenberg's photo studio in Philadelphia]

But just because we’re not kids anymore doesn’t mean we don’t still need time to reenergize. In fact, we probably need it more. So I’ve decided that this year, I’m actually going to treat summer like summer.

I kicked it off a few weekends ago with a surf trip to Cocoa Beach, Florida. And the morning of my flight, I woke up with the same over-excited feeling I used to get on the last day of school.

In Cocoa Beach, the weather was perfect, the beach was beautiful, the waves were ideal for beginner surfers and Pete Dancer over at Cocoa Beach Surf Company gave some killer lessons. I highly recommend it.

I followed that up with Memorial Day weekend in Dewey Beach, and spent this past weekend in Baltimore enjoying some Natty Bohs and baseball. Because I’ve decided that this year, I’m not going to let summer slip away from behind a computer.

GrownUpSummers

I guess what I’m trying to say is, sorry I’m not sorry for going light on the blog posts lately :-) Happy summer, all!

2 Comments on “Grown-Up Summers”

  1. Lou says:

    putting the computer on pause and heading out to do yoga on the beach! Thanks for being so insprational. LLStretch

  2. Martha Pauly says:

    Fabulous reminder of the reason behind the four seasons – I feel inspired to follow your example – let the rejuvenation begin!!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers