Resolution Color

I moved to Philadelphia for a job opportunity 9 months ago today. Prior to my move, I was living in Boston. My dream city. Or so I thought. I was sure I’d live there forever.

My decision to leave was a tough one. But I must say, I think it was the right one. Philly’s got flavor! Flavor, that to be honest, I don’t think Boston had. For example, it has thousands of vibrant murals. Literally. I see at least twenty on my morning jog alone. It’s got funky sculptures, plenty of yarn bombing (or as I prefer to call it, Grandma Graffiti), vibrant houses and as expected, lots of interesting people.

This new city has inspired me creatively in many ways. Today, I’ll tell you one.

Philadelphia, you have inspired me to add more color to my life.

If you know me, you know that I wear a lot of black. And by a lot of black, I mean only black. I’m not sure why.

It might be because black is always in style. Or because it’s slimming. And matches everything. Maybe it’s because I’m a creative in advertising. Or because doesn’t get dirty (most probable).

But that phase of my life (28 years) is over! So thanks for the inspiration, Philly. (And new friends who have not been afraid to call me out — “How many black tops do you own?!”, “What are you going to wear tonight? Black?”, “You wish you checked the weather? Why, what would you have worn instead? Black?”)

So let’s get colorful!

Tell me, where should I go shopping first?

7 Comments on “Resolution Color”

  1. Emma says:

    Lost and Found on 3rd street or Verde on 13th!

  2. I’m trying to make the same resolution!! Ann Taylor Loft has TONS of bright colors lately, same with H&M

  3. New stores. Exciting! Thanks Girls.

  4. […] later, while writing my blog post “Resolution: Color”, I came across the website for the City of Philadelphia Mural Arts Program. While browsing the […]

  5. […] couple of months ago, as you may have read in my post, Resolution: Color, I decided to add more color to my life. Around the same time, I started seeing Color Run imagery […]

  6. […] my creative co-workers and I were taking our daily stroll to grab some lunch. If you remember from Resolution Color, these are the very co-workers who tease me for wearing too much black. So as we were walking, I […]

  7. […] way and Philadelphia continues to inspire me to add more color to my life. That’s right, Resolution Color […]


Leave a Reply

