Wedding Invitations & Personal Touches

This week, I received a wedding invitation in the mail that looked quite familiar.

It was the wedding invitation suite that I’ve been working on for months with my soon-to-be-cousin-in-law, Maria.

Maria and I began discussing the project back in January. She requested “a classic, traditional look…”

I panicked.

Traditional isn’t really my thing.

But then she added, “…with some fun, personal touches”.

Thank goodness.

To me, the most important thing in wedding invitation design is to capture the personality of the couple. I never want to design something that looks like it was purchased at the card store down the street. Then what would be the point of hiring me? Am I right?

The design that Joe and Maria chose focuses on their wedding venue, Canisius College in Buffalo, New York. Canisius College is also where they met many years ago, and will always be a special place to them.

Thank you to Michael Smith (www.mssgraphics.com) for granting me the rights to his ink drawing, “Christ The King Chapel at Canisius College”

Tell me, what do you think is most important when it comes to wedding invitation design?

5 Comments on “Wedding Invitations & Personal Touches”

  1. reallyrisa says:

    This is stunning, Susan!

  2. amy says:

    I wish I could go back in time and have you do mine…although that ws before you were such a household name! Great job Suz!!

  3. Thank you both! And Amy, I’m sure we can come up with another event for which I can design a little somethin somethin for ya 🙂

  4. Maria says:

    We’re getting rave reviews from our guests! Everyone loves them! It makes them even more special to know that our cousin designed them for us! Susan you’re awesome – we can’t thank you enough!

  5. I’m so glad you’re happy. Can’t wait for the big day.


Leave a Reply

