The Joy of Side Projects

Sometimes when you have a full-time job, it’s hard to find time for side projects. Am I right?

But it is side projects that help keep us happy, inspired and free. Like I read in a Fast Company article back in June, “The happiest people are the ones that aren’t just working on a deadline for a client.” Mike Sheldon, the CEO of Deutsch, goes on to say, “This is the slash generation where someone might be an art director/DJ/surfboard manufacturer, and we have to embrace the slash generation. We have people here that are writing books, making guitar stands, making short form movies and developing a cosmetics line.”

One my favorite side projects is designing for minted, a community of independent graphic designers and online paper goods store. But because of my hectic work schedule, it has been over a year since I’ve shown minted any love. So, I’ve decided to get back in the groove. And it feels so good to be back!

My latest design, he loves her, which I entered into this month’s Just Can’t Wait Save The Date Challenge. Voting open now.

Tell me, what kind of side projects do you take on, and how do you make time for them?

2 Comments on “The Joy of Side Projects”

  1. amanda says:

    I sit on the couch in your office as a side project.


Leave a Reply

